RESOLVED

“These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that you joy may be full” John 15:11

Well 2012 is gone and was a blur. It came in like a lion and went out like a road runner. It was a season full of sorrows, struggles, surprises and celebration. I hit a wall, discovering the depths of my weakness, I broke through re-encountering the beauty of Gods grace.

In 2012 through many tears I came to know my God more as my Father and through much wrestling of soul and my Saviors stripes I found needed healing from many wounds. I experienced a richness of Gods presence and desire for prolonged prayer I had previously not known. I allowed myself to grieve, to laugh, to enjoy for the first time in a long time.

During a summer long sabbatical my family drew closer together. I gained a new appreciation for friends in Christ and an increasing empathy and affection for fellow pastors. In an amazing act of grace I received from God a shepherd and spiritual guide who has helped me to feel my soul and find new contentment in Christ.

It was a hard year, a good year; a year full of the gospel and life.

So what would I resolve to commit myself to in this new year? Well, as I ponder simply the surface of what I’d like to attend to in 2013 I find myself summarizing my longings with the words of Jesus who said in John 15 that his desire was that I would be filled with a fullness of joy that comes from him. That is what I want for myself, simply what Jesus wants for me (and for you). It is what Paul wants in Phil 3 as well. To know him and the power, peace, presence and therefore joy that is lavished upon our hearts and minds through Jesus Christ.

This is my prayer for my family, for Mystery Church and for you today. That in all our resolutions, the end goal would be to know, be with & enjoy more of Jesus this year. That you and I would receive the regenerating, renewing and rejuvenating work of the gospel through the tangible presence of the Holy Spirit, resulting in the total transformation of our entire lives.

Just as Jesus prayed. Just like he likes to do.

Happy New Year

Pastor Steev

 

 

Leave a Reply

